Chapter 53. Unserviced villages

There are five unserviced villages where land has been zoned in previous development plans: **Ballygawley, Banada, Ransboro, Rathcormac and Tourlestrane.**

These rural settlements contain one-off dwellings, local community facilities – church, school, public house – and rural shops, all clustered around a focal point, such as a crossroads.

In accordance with NPF provisions, lands may not be zoned unless they are serviced or serviceable during the life of the Development Plan. Uisce Eireann's Capital Investment Plan 2020-2024 does not include any projects to provide wastewater treatment plants within the aforementioned villages.

In order to promote the consolidation of these settlements and facilitate their future servicing, each village is defined by a **development limit**, with the main purpose being to attract one-off housing into these clusters rather than permit them in the open countryside.

Ballygawley, Ransboro and Rathcormac are located within the *rural area under urban influence* which surrounds Sligo Town, where the strategic settlement policy SP-S-9 is generally applicable (refer to Section 5.5 Strategy for Rural Settlement in Chapter 5, Volume 1).

Within the defined development limits of the three unserviced villages, the strategic settlement policy SP-S-9 does NOT apply to one-off house proposals. Such proposals will be assessed on the basis of the strategic settlement policy SP-S-10.

Within the villages of Banada and Rathcormac, any proposal for development in the vicinity of Flood Zones A and B (refer to flood risk mapping in Appendix 1 of the SFRA) shall be supported by a **site-specific flood risk assessment**.

Sligo County Council, in co-operation with Uisce Éireann, will pursue the provision of wastewater treatment facilities to serve these villages.